DPM Com seeks Harmonization of Vulnerability Assessment Tools


Members of the Disaster Preparedness and Mitigation Committee (DMPC) discuss the plans and activities for 2017. Mr. Eric Colmenares of DOST Caraga acted as the moderator of the discussion.


“Harmonization to avoid confusion. We should have one data set on vulnerability assessment.”

Ms. Grace C. Harting of NEDA explained the need to harmonize these vulnerability tools in the recently conducted Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Committee (DPMC) Meeting on December 13, 2016 at Red Palm Suites and Restaurants in Butuan City.

She highlighted the essence of harmonization since many agencies use different terminologies in assessing vulnerability. It could create confusion among agencies and prospect clients in the community. She also shared the four major differences that agencies possess: Use and Application of Terminologies, Operational Definition and Application of Risks and Vulnerability, Parameters and Scoring System and Approaches. Identifying the strengths and weaknesses of each tool will allow the creation of a harmonized one and will consequently provide a sole basis during assessment.

Furthermore, the committee agreed to give time in the harmonization of vulnerability assessment tools in January, next year. This will be followed by risk profiling and updating of the Disaster Risk Reduction Management (DRRM) plan in Caraga.

The meeting was attended by members of the region’s DPMC (DOH, AFP, PNP, DA, NEDA, DOST), organized by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Caraga and spearheaded by the Office of the Civil Defense (OCD).


DRRM Aspects and Structure

The Disaster Risk Reduction and Management (DRRM) mainly has four aspects: Prevention and Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery and Rehabilitation. Each of these are under the management of four agencies, with the Office of the Civil Defense as the Chairperson.

Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG)



Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD)



Department of Science and Technology (DOST)



National Economic Development Authority (NEDA)



Department of Health

Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Department of Education

Department of Agriculture

Department of Agrarian Reform

Department of Energy

Department of Finance

Department of Trade and Industry

Department of Transportation and Communications

Department of Budget and Management

Department of Public Works and Highways

Department of Foreign Affairs

Department of Justice

Department of Labor and Employment

Department of Tourism